Thursday, May 3, 2012

211. Carnival Beauties: MISS SAMPALOC 1927 and MISS QUIAPO 1927

In 1927, the Manila Carnival quest for Miss Philippines continued its format of having official provincial delegates for the national contest. While some provincial bets were directly selected by high-ranking officials like the governor or the head of the local Carnival committee, the search for Miss Manila was more systematic. Manila's district heads were mandated to name their own "Miss District" which saw the selection of 17 beauties: Nitang Moreno (Gagalangin), Lourdes Baltazar (Malate), Herminia Guerrero (Malate), Beatriz Concepcion Puzon (Sta. Ana), Presentacion Perez (Singalong), Rosario Flores (Sta. Mesa), Severina Narciso Mendoza (Pandacan), Josefina Conde (San Miguel), Leonila Mat. Castro (Tondo), Evarista Laconico (Trozo), Pacita Legarda (Binondo), Luisa Fernandez (Intramuros), Salud Austria (San Lazaro), Erlinda Villarica (Sta. Cruz), Conchita Tusaon (Sampaloc) and Amparo Trinidad Papa (Quiapo).

The two beauties on this page are the official representatives of Sampaloc and Quiapo, Conchita Tuason and Amparo Papa, respectively. Three finalists were picked from the line-up--Miss Binondo (Pacita Legarda), Miss San Lazaro (Salud Austria) and Miss Intramuros (Luisa Marasigan). Emerging as the overall winner was Luisa Marasigan, who swept competition away by winning two titles--Sultana de Pasig and the top title of Miss Manila. She went on even further in the national competition by winning the plum Miss Philippines 1927 crown, succeeding Anita Noble of Batangas.

No comments: